In Maryland, the legal drinking age is 21, and the consumption of alcohol
by anyone under this age is prohibited. The maximum blood alcohol concentration
(BAC) level of drivers who are under the age of 21 is 0.02%. Maryland
has an implied consent law, which means that if you operate a vehicle,
you have automatically given consent to submit to a chemical test to determine
the amount of alcohol in your system. Refusal to take the test will result
in the automatic suspension of your driver's license.
Penalties for Underage Drinking and Driving
First time underage DUI offenders may face imprisonment of up to two months,
a fine ranging from $500 to $1,000, and a six-month driver's license suspension.
Second time offenders may face a jail sentence of up to one year, a fine
ranging from $500 to $2,000, and a one-year driver's license suspension.
In addition to these penalties, some insurance companies will terminate
a policy after an underage DUI conviction. Other companies may raise the
individual's monthly insurance rates.
With the potential of receiving such harsh penalties, it is important to
ensure the team supporting you will stop at nothing to protect you and
your future. You can rest assured that in retaining our representation,
we will do all we can to provide you with the most effective defense possible.
We will be proactive in examining the details concerning your case, and
will work tirelessly to get your charges reduced or dropped.
Call Us for a case evaluation
Our firm provides free initial consultations, so potential clients can
get a feel for our services without having to make a financial commitment.
Do not wait to get started on your case—
contact our DUI defense attorneys or call
(443) 233-6877 to set up your case evaluation.
We are proud to serve clients throughout Maryland, including Anne Arundel,
Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Carroll, Cecil County, Harford, Howard,
Montgomery, and Prince Georges County.